From 19 Feb 2024, Harley Street Oncology will be known as The Cancer Centre. Our commitment to your care remains unchanged, and operating hours will remain the same.

癌症患者感染H1N1

癌症患者可能更容易感染H1N1并引起其它并发症。 任何患有严重慢性疾病的患者,例如肾衰竭、慢性阻塞性肺病或癌症,都有感染H1N1的风险,因为这些潜在的疾病会削弱免疫系统。 然而,对于目前正接受化疗的癌症患者来说这方面的风险更高,因为其免疫系统受到更多因素的影响。 潜在的癌症会攻击免疫系统。 用于治疗癌症的化疗具有进一步削弱免疫系统的副作用。 换句话说,癌症患者的免疫系统会受到双重攻击。

他们感染该病毒的风险也更高吗?

While cancer patients are at theoretically higher risk of acquiring the H1N1 infection, we do not, at the present time, have sufficient data to conclude on the magnitude of that increased risk.尽管癌症患者理论上感染H1N1的风险更高,但是我们目前没有充足的数据来总结风险到底会升高多少。 目前正在积极接受化疗的癌症患者风险更高。 总的来说,身体上的疾病负担越重(例如更晚期的癌症)以及化疗强度越大,相关的风险就越高。

癌症患者感染H1N1后面临并发症的风险有多“大”?

可能威胁生命的并发症包括重要器官的严重感染,例如肺(肺炎)、心脏(心脏炎)和大脑(脑炎),这会导致器官衰竭、癫痫发作(患脑炎的情况下)或者血压骤降(中毒性休克)。 当流感病毒攻破了人体抵抗细菌感染的天然屏障后,继发细菌性感染(尤其是肺部感染(肺炎))也可能引起并发症,。 最近在澳大利亚的Peter MacCallum癌症中心,一位感染H1N1的癌症患者的死亡报告也证实:正在接受化疗的癌症患者产生并发症的风险更高。

自从H1N1侵入新加坡以来,您的患者对此有多担心呢? 他们担心什么呢? 自从H1N1在社区开始传播以来,这种担心加剧了吗?

H1N1出现在新加坡并在社区传播开来的新闻无疑在我的患者中引起了焦虑。 然而,中心的护士、顾问和我自己通过为所有正在接受化疗的患者提供综合咨询和患者教育,让他们更加了解自己的病情风险、可以抵消风险的措施和遇到问题时应采取的正确反应,故而大大减少了患者的焦虑情绪。 这大大减少了“未知的恐惧”,患者感觉更有力量了。 此外,我们经常保持联系,患者也可以通过电话随时联系到我或护士。 我们有一个移动医生和护士团队,能够在患者需要的时候在家照顾他们。 患者知道我们中心为他们全天候地提供服务,非常安全,这也对消除他们的恐惧有很大帮助。

您能给癌症患者提供几条建议吗?

我们一直强调个人卫生的重要性。 与患者生活在一起的直系亲属应严格做到勤洗手并在咳嗽和打喷嚏时捂住口鼻。 我不让患者去高风险的地方。 高风险的地方指的是拥挤的地方,尤其是通风差的区域。 T在这些地方,疾病传播的风险更高。 当不得不去公共场所时,例如患者经常需要去商店购买东西,我建议他们避开人流高峰期,例如在工 作日的上班时间去而不是在周末大减价人多的时候去。 在拥挤的地方考虑戴口罩。 我不阻止患者的亲友看望他们,因为患者正在经历癌症诊断和治疗,心理状况不稳定,而这种互动是社会和情感支持的重要来源。 但是我提醒他们不要和身体有明显不适的亲友亲密接触,例如发烧或有流感症状的亲友。

对于癌症患者来说,公众表现出负责的态度有多重要

一位有公德心的人会表现出负责的态度,他们注意个人卫生并在不舒服的时候避免去公共场所,这无疑会有助于减少疾病传播。

据您所知,在新加坡有癌症患者感染H1N1吗?

我有一个乳腺癌患者,最近被诊断出感染H1N1。 幸运的是,她已经完成了化疗阶段并转到激素治疗阶段,因此她的免疫系统大体上已经恢复了。在服用了特敏福之后,她恢复得非常好。

还有其它要补充的吗?

正在接受化疗的癌症患者和普通大众开始接受抗病毒治疗(例如服用特敏福)的门槛不同。 并不是所有感染H1N1的人都需要接受抗病毒治疗,大多数人情况良好,会自行痊愈。 当进入到缓解期,对于一般大众来说,只有在病情非常严重的情况下才需要去医院接受抗病毒治疗,大多数人只需在普通医师的指导下进行对症护理。 然而正在接受化疗的癌症患者一旦出现流感症状就应咨询主治肿瘤医师,并立即接受抗病毒治疗。
Dr Wong Seng Weng

Dr Wong Seng Weng

At The Cancer Centre (TCC), Dr Wong Seng Weng and his medical oncology team are focusing their expertise on implementing preventive measures, actively conducting screening and providing innovative, targeted treatments for adult cancers, as well as using proven technologies to ensure optimal patient safety and comfort.

Dr Wong, a visiting consultant medical oncologist at Mount Elizabeth Hospital (Novena) and Mount Elizabeth Hospital (Orchard), holds the appointment of Adjunct Clinician Scientist at the Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology in the Agency of Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR). He is also an active member of the American Society of Clinical Oncology, European Society of Medical Oncology and Singapore Society of Oncology.

Share This:

新加坡医疗集团(SMG)成立于2005年,是一家拥有私人专家供应商网络的上市医疗机构,跨越美学、诊断性影像学与筛查学、肿瘤学以及妇幼保健四大支柱。SMG在新加坡境内拥有40多家诊所,战略性地分布在新加坡中部以及中心地带。而在新加坡外,SMG也于印度尼西亚、越南和澳大利亚拥有业务。在这里了解我们的隐私政策。 在此处了解我们的隐私政策。

访问其他诊所:

From 19 Feb 2024, Harley Street Oncology will be known as The Cancer Centre. Our commitment to your care remains unchanged, and operating hours will remain the same.

H1N1 in Cancer Patients

Cancer patients are potentially at greater risk of acquiring an H1N1 infection as well as developing complications from the infection. Any patient with serious chronic diseases such as kidney failure, chronic obstructive lung disease or cancer is at risk, as the underlying disease weakens the immune system. However, patients with cancer currently receiving treatment with chemotherapy are at particularly high risk, as their immune systems are affected in more ways than one. Underlying cancer takes a toll on the immune system. Chemotherapy employed to treat cancer has the side effect of further weakening the immune system. Cancer patients, in other words, suffer a double setback in their immunity.

Are they also at higher risk of contracting the virus as well?

While cancer patients are at theoretically higher risk of acquiring the H1N1 infection, we do not, at the present time, have sufficient data to conclude on the magnitude of that increased risk.

Are some cancer patients more at risk than others?

Cancer patients, currently on active treatment with chemotherapy, are at higher risk. In general, the greater the disease burden on the body (i.e. more advanced stages of cancer) and the greater the intensity of the chemotherapy, the higher would be the associated risk.

How “real” is the risk for complications that cancer patients face, should they contract H1N1?

The potentially life-threatening complications include serious infections of vital organs such as the lung (pneumonia), heart (carditis) and brain (encephalitis) leading to organ failure, seizure (in the case of encephalitis) or a precipitous drop in blood pressure (toxic shock). The complication may also arise from secondary bacterial infection, particularly of the lungs (pneumonia), after the natural barrier of the body to bacterial infections is breached by the influenza virus. The fear that cancer patients undergoing chemotherapy are at increased risk for complication is borne out by the recent report of the death of a cancer patient with H1N1 at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre in Australia.

How concerned have your patients been, since H1N1 hit Singapore? What are some of their concerns? Have the concerns intensified, since community spread set in?

The appearance of H1N1 in Singapore and the news of community transmission have certainly caused anxiety amongst my patients. However, our centre’s practice of comprehensive counselling and patient education conducted by the nurses, counsellor and myself for all patients receiving chemotherapy under our care has greatly reduced the anxiety by raising the patients’ understanding of the risks of their condition, the steps they can take to counter the risks and the correct response should they encounter problems. This has greatly dispelled the “fear of the unknown” and patients are more empowered. Further, we are in constant contact and all our patients are at liberty to reach me or my nurses by phone directly at any time on any day. We have a mobile doctors and nurses team that is able to attend to our patients in their homes whenever the team is called upon. The secure knowledge our patients have of the cover provided by our centre 24 hours a day, seven days a week, goes a long way to allaying their fears.

What are some tips that you can impart to cancer patients?

The importance of personal hygiene measures is constantly stressed. Frequent hand-washing and the need to cover the mouth and nose when coughing and sneezing are measures that immediate family members staying with the patient should also strictly observe. I discourage my patients from going to high-risk areas. By high-risk areas, I am referring to crowded areas, particular areas with poor ventilation. The risk of disease transmission is higher in such places. When visits to public places cannot be avoided, for instance, patients often have a need to go to the shops to run errands, I suggest to go during off-peak periods such as office hours on weekdays rather than to join the weekend crowd at big sale event. Wearing a mask in crowded situations may be considered. I do not discourage friends and relatives of patients from visiting as such interaction is an important source of social and emotional support for patients going through a psychologically tumultuous period of cancer diagnosis and treatment. However, I caution against intimate contact with friends and relatives who are clearly unwell, perhaps running a fever or showing flu-like symptoms.

For cancer patients, how important is it that the public acts responsibly?

A civic-minded public that acts responsibly by paying attention to personal hygiene and to avoid public areas if they are unwell will certainly help to cut down disease transmission.

From your knowledge, has there been any cancer patient in Singapore who has contracted H1N1?

I had a breast cancer patient who was recently diagnosed with H1N1. Fortunately, she has completed the chemotherapy phase of her treatment and has moved on to the hormonal therapy phase, hence, her immune system has largely reconstituted. She recovered very well after treatment with Tamiflu.

Any other comments?

The threshold for starting antiviral treatment (e.g. with Tamiflu) should be different for cancer patients receiving chemotherapy versus the general public. Not all people infected with H1N1 will be required anti-viral treatment as the majority with do well and recover on their own. As we move into the mitigation phase, for the general population, only more serious cases would need anti-viral treatment and referral to a hospital while the majority can be given only symptomatic care supervised by a general practitioner. Cancer patients receiving chemotherapy, on the other hand, should return to their primary oncologist should they develop flu-like symptoms and they should be started on antiviral treatment without delay.
Dr Wong Seng Weng

Dr Wong Seng Weng

At The Cancer Centre (TCC), Dr Wong Seng Weng and his medical oncology team are focusing their expertise on implementing preventive measures, actively conducting screening and providing innovative, targeted treatments for adult cancers, as well as using proven technologies to ensure optimal patient safety and comfort.

Dr Wong, a visiting consultant medical oncologist at Mount Elizabeth Hospital (Novena) and Mount Elizabeth Hospital (Orchard), holds the appointment of Adjunct Clinician Scientist at the Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology in the Agency of Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR). He is also an active member of the American Society of Clinical Oncology, European Society of Medical Oncology and Singapore Society of Oncology.

Share This:

Incorporated in 2005, Singapore Medical Group (SMG) is a healthcare organisation with a network of private specialist providers across four established pillars - Aesthetics, Diagnostic Imaging & Screening, Oncology and Women's and Children's Health. Within Singapore, SMG has more than 40 clinics strategically located in central Singapore and heartland estates. Beyond Singapore, SMG also has an established presence in Indonesia, Vietnam and Australia. Learn about our privacy policy here.

Visit Other Clinics: